Lost: Humanity

The selfishness of the human being is becoming increasingly prominent with each passing year. Mostly I draw upon my experiences on the London Underground to reach this conclusion. I’m noticing that people do not allow others to leave the train first before boarding, pushing exiting mothers off balance so that they can get their prime spot next to the rail (which they then lean on, meaning other users cannot use it for its purpose). People are not standing to the right, clogging up the escalators and causing ill-tempers. My biggest pet peeve, however, is reserved for those who are ignorantly glued to their phones or e-readers, in the station or not. Dawdling, directly crossing people’s paths and walking into someone means that it is your fault. Not the person who is too busy entertaining themselves whilst inconveniencing others (I have my path cut up too many times by these sloth paced ignoramuses every morning).

As you can probably tell from the above paragraph I am one of (seemingly) many people who have lost faith in humanity. As my thoughts flowed regarding this subject, I was reminiscing about the days when life was vibrantly splattered with hope and promise. Now (much like my surroundings) all I see are monochromatic splurges of misery and the “looking-out-for-number-1” mentality. Instances like those mentioned above, or even recently when in a shop this week the man in front of me (not  5 paces) allowed for the door to slam in my face.

But I wonder to myself: when did humanity die? Or have I just gotten old, grabbled out of bed and smelt that bitter cup of coffee (which coincidentally I have grown like in my increasing years)?

I read today that people are championing a certain former minister to bring “The Olympic Spirit” back to London. Most of the people that I have worked with, during the Olympics and after, saw it as the biggest pain. They aren’t sportingly inclined like I am, they didn’t see the economic significance, nor the stature-boosting role it played. Unfortunately this mythical spirit that they are alluding to was not felt on the streets of London, at least not by those who were so vehemently anti-Olympics.

In an ideal world, it is my genuine belief that everyone would be a Marxist (please note the use of Marxist as opposed to Communist). There would be peace on Earth, a constant “Olympic Spirit”. No wars because of religion, race or creed. Everyone would be equal and play the role they wanted to play in society. Money would not be an issue. A class-system would not be even thought about. There would be no me v you, us v them, him v her. But this isn’t an ideal world. Problems arise every hour that reminds us of this fact. It is a mixture of this, the above mentioned humanity (or lack there-of) and a plethora of other factors that makes me know that I am a misanthrope. An existentialist. A nihilist. I hate, with innumerable fibres of my being, that mass that is known as “The General Public”.

Why should I give any level of time or emotion in caring about humanity’s survival or how people behave?

To bring it back to my first point – selfishness. Because with people acting better, my life would be simpler.

Phone manufacturers are constantly looking for us to have shortcuts; streamlining activities so that we can make the most of our precious time. If people were considerate, I can categorically say that I would not waste so much time and energy hating people. My days wouldn’t be stained with angst and loathing, and I’d probably be more stable for it.

Perhaps I am being too idealistic, thinking that humanity can step up. Perhaps I read Don Quixote too thoroughly. Perhaps I should change my name to Donna Quixote.

Most likely I’m going to continue the way that I am because ignorance and selfishness is apparent everywhere now. Good Guy stories are now highlighted rather than then norm.

Until that changes, I will still be wearing my Nietzsche t-shirt proudly.

(This was inspired by the man who let the door slam in my face; another gentleman at King’s Cross Station who, in his rush to overtake people whilst it being dangerous, hit my dislocated shoulder leaving me in considerable pain and didn’t look back; and the Muslims in Oslo who have organised a human shield around a Synagogue thus reminding me that humanity does still exist in some capacity somewhere.)

Leave a Reply

